The notifications every time you leave a WhatsApp group no longer appear, but the app still lets you know who has left a chat
We had already warned a while ago about WhatsApp’s intention to add the option to leave the groups without the rest of the people finding out, and everything indicates that this function is finally on the way.
At least that is what the people at WABetaInfo suggest, who assures that the latest version of WhatsApp for iOS no longer shows a warning when a user leaves a group chat.
But not everything is perfect: if you thought that the rest of the participants of a group could not know when you have left a group, I am afraid that you were wrong.
WhatsApp adds a menu of former group participants
As has been verified, the latest beta version of WhatsApp for iOS no longer shows a notice in the chat every time a user leaves the group. Instead, the company has added a new section within the group information menufrom which you can see the list of former participants of the chat.
This section shows the list of participants who left the group or were expelled in the last sixty days. Therefore, if you leave a WhatsApp group chat, the rest of the participants will be able to see if you have done so from this new section.
Although WhatsApp no longer warns about leaving groups, there is one exception: administrators of each group will receive a notification when one of the participants decides to leave the chat. Something logical, on the other hand, because it can facilitate moderation tasks, especially in groups with a large number of participants.
The change is not yet visible to WhatsApp users on Android. However, it is expected to arrive together with a future update of the application. To make sure you don’t miss any news, it is recommended to keep the latest available version of WhatsApp installed on your mobile.